There’s no place like home….or Japan

Standard

Image

Do you see that? This photo was taken 13 hours into a 14 and a half hour direct flight from Newark NJ to Narita Japan. I was so close it almost seemed like a dream. Now, I’ve been in Japan for a little over a week and it’s still a little hard to believe that I’m actually here.

Of course, that disbelief fades away once I step outside my dorm room and realize that everyone is speaking Japanese, all of the sign are in Japanese, and the food is, of course Japanese. (^v^)I’ve even started incorporating Japanese emoticons because they’re just so darn cute!!

This is definitely a place like no other! There are water bottle with caps that never come off, special yellow lines in the subway for the vision impaired, and subway cards that not only assure your ride on the subway, but can buy you snacks and drinks from designated vending machines! This is definitely a land of convenience. They even heat up your food for you at convenience stores!!

Don’t even get me started on the food. Ever heard of McDonald’s Teriyaki burger? Or a pepper mayo chicken wrap at KFC? Or how about green tea doughnuts at Krispy Kreme? If you’ve ever dreamed of it, it’s probably here. Yes, even pizza sushi. Speaking of pizza, any topping you’ve ever thought possible, can be found on Japanese pizzas, even combinations you’ve never heard of. Want tempura shrimp on your pizza? No problem. Oh, so you want hot dogs in your crust and seaweed all over? Not a problem!! And the service here can’t be beat….Just don’t forget to bow. You’ll be doing that a lot!

‘There are so many things that I want to see and do, and only one semester to do them in. I want to climb Mt. Fuji, have chats with random strangers in Japanese, be able to actually read kanji, go shopping till I drop….ping, eat something strange and exotic. I want to get over my fear of onsens, see a movie without subtitles, and so so much more.

Anyway, a week might not seem like a very long time to most people, but so much has happened over these past few days! It almost feels as though I’ve been here my whole life. For as short as I’ve been here, funny thing is, I wouldn’t staying here after the semester ends.  Three months just isn’t enough time to see and experience everything a country has to offer. But I’m always up for a challenge…

Life in Japan is just so wonderful, everything is new and exciting and I want to share all of my experiences with you here on this blog!! I will be posting weekly blogs about my time here, the people I’ve met, culture shock, strange foods I’ve found, the most interesting places and what it means to be a student abroad and how you can prepare yourself when the time comes for you study abroad.

Until next time~! Sayounara~! ☆*・゜゚・*(^O^)/*・゜゚・*☆

Image

Leave a Reply

