Things I’m gonna miss!!

Standard

Wow, I can’t even believe that my time in Japan is almost coming to a close. It feels almost like just yesterday I was stepping off of a plane, jet-lagged from the 14 hour flight, but ready to explore all that this country had to offer. And explore I did!! I made a lot of new and interesting friends that I will never forget. Without them, this trip would not have been as amazing and life-changing as it has been. So first and foremost, I’m going to miss the incredible people that I was lucky to meet here. But thank God for Facebook and other networking apps; although we’ll be far away, we still have ways to keep in touch!!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

I have so many memories, and searching through all of my photos is bringing each wonderful image back to me. It makes me not want to leave even more! ! ! But I’m just glad that all of the memories I had were good ones. Yes, even that time that I almost died while climbing Mt. Fuji. It’s definitely something that I will never attempt again, but I am glad I got to do it just once! Plus, if I ever get hit really hard in the head, and somehow get the urge to go again, I can always just go to the amusement park instead!

Image

Image

You can’t really tell because of all the clouds, but Fuji-san is somewhere back there. Fuji-san helped me to (somewhat) overcome my fear of heights, and gave me the strength, both mentally and physically, to believe in myself and keep pushing hard to achieve my goals! And, on another note, onsens helped my get rid of my fear of being naked in front of others. . . .haha, just kidding.

Image

I am really going to struggle with the subway system when I return to America. For starters, in Japan they are always on time, and if they are going to be late, a message goes out to alert all of the passengers of what time the train is expected. Music plays as the train approaches, and music plays when the doors are about to close, so that’s when everyone starts sprinting. Also, in most cars there are TVs, although they only really play advertisements. And one more thing, many trains have light up maps on them that tell you where you are and what the next station is going to be, you know, just in case you forgot. But I sure won’t miss how crowded those things can get! I have been pushed up against the glass of the window so many times that it’s not even funny.

Image

I’m also going to miss the food. A McDonald’s that doesn’t take five years to prepare my food, does mess up my order, and has a teriyaki burger and shrimp burger . . . .and did I mention that they deliver?

Image

I’m going to miss sushi that tastes fresh,

Image

Image

Curry from Coco’s curry,

Image

and taco yaki.

Image

And other weird stuff. But the sad thing is, I haven’t even had ramen yet :(. . . .well I still have two more weeks left!

And I have no idea how I’m going to live without cheap, all night karaoke parties!! To tell you the truth, according to my calculations, I have gone to karaoke at least once per week! Life just won’t be the same!

Image

Image

Image

I’m going to miss how people express themselves through fashion, how each city has it’s own interesting perks, the temples and shrines, how Tokyo never sleeps, how friends can be made easily, how I get free stuff from old ladies just for being a foreigner, and hyaku en shops. Basically I will miss every moment! This has been such a great experience for me, one that I will truly never, ever forget. I do plan to come back one day. But for now, I prepare to bid Japan a (temporary) farewell. And for those of you who have been reading and keeping up with my blog. Thank you so much, I really appreciate it! Hopefully this has answered at least one of the questions or concerns you’ve had about Japan, or just motivated you to want to come to this wonderful country even more. Whatever the case, I hope that you do come, because I can guarantee that you won’t regret it! Until next time. Sayounara \(@ ̄∇ ̄@)/

Leave a Reply

