Embracing Diversity and Becoming Multiculturally Aware

Standard

A few days from today officially marks the one month mark of my move here to Glasgow! With each passing second, everlasting memories are made, and my appreciation of the world and its vastness grows.  I’ve developed friendships with people from all different nations and backgrounds, and have even adopted a moniker along the way (everyone calls me “New York”), and I have to admit I never tire of it.  Speaking of the homeland, everything was fine and dandy, not an ounce of homesickness present within me, that is until the Superbowl.  The images of the Statue of Liberty and Empire State Building awakened the dormant feelings inside of me, and I yearned to be home to celebrate this tradition with an endless supply of hors d’oeuvres and old friends. Thankfully those feelings quickly subsided, and British Brianna mode was switched back in.

In the past week, I believe I got a first hand look at how much of a melting pot Glasgow truly is.  Let me give you a recap of all the multicultural events that took place last week:

1. Australia Day (Sunday January 26th): Good day mate, throw some shrimp on the barbie and celebrate the 4th of July equivalent for the land down under! This day is one in which national pride is the priority and my Australian friends helped me ring it in this year!  Shrimp on the barbie was absent from the festivities, and I was informed, much to my dismay, that the terminology “shrimp on the barbie” isn’t as commonplace as us Americans assumed.  The Outback Steakhouse chain has officially lost some credibility in my books!

Image

2. Robert Burns’ Day (Saturday January 25th): Robbie Burns, one of the most influential and notable poets in Scottish history is honored on this day of celebration.  One of his most revered works is a poem titled, Address to a Haggis.  What is a haggis you may ask? To be honest I don’t think I could eloquently describe this delightful Scottish delicacy, well I don’t think I could without deterring you all from eating it.  Haggis is one of the foods I tend to group into the “Don’t ask, don’t tell” category. I’m a firm believer in the don’t knock it till you try it philosophy, but I don’t quite know if I’m ready to take on the haggis yet.  I’m a girl with a self proclaimed iron stomach, so for reputation maintenance purposes, I know that haggis consumption is inevitable. I’ll be sure to keep you all posted once I clear that hurdle!

Image

3. Chinese New Year (Friday January 31st): A New year, a novel country, and a horse to symbolize it! I find it so ironic that this is the year of the horse, seeing as the Shetland pony is without a doubt one of the most incredible breed of horses around.  My Chinese roommate cooked our flat an authentic Chinese meal.  While I missed my Chinese food staples of sesame chicken and pork fried rice, my food palate was expanded with tantalizing spices and exotic dishes.  Everyone in the flat is awaiting a traditional American meal, and all I can think of are pigs in a blanket and potato salad, so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Image

A peek at the feast Esther made us for Chinese New Year!

Image

So that documents my eventful week in Glasgow, never a vapid moment here!

Leave a Reply

