I Believe I Can Fly, I Believe I Can Touch The Skye (Pun intended)!

Standard

It is hard to believe that I have officially come to the halfway mark in this incredible adventure that is “study abroad.”  I don’t know how to translate it into words, but I feel as if I’m living in a dream.  Like I am intrinsically aware that this is the best time of my life, and that while I’m taking it by the reigns and enjoying every minute, I know that eventually it’ll end.  Unless of course I just move to Glasgow and never return to America, which if financially feasible, would without a doubt be taken into consideration! In no way do I wish to sound cliche, but this experience is truly life-altering.  When I juxtapose who I was with who I now am, the physical appearance may not be jarring, but internally I feel like a completely different person.  In 2 months, I’ve become a more confident, appreciative, and cultured individual, and I have to give Scotland credit where it is due.  But enough with relishing in my journey to self-discovery; let’s discuss my most recent adventures!

This weekend, thanks to the International Society of Glasgow, I went up to the highlands to visit the Isle of Skye.  The Isle, as I was informed, is rated as the #4 top island in the world.  After visiting Skye and experiencing wind speeds that I didn’t believe possible, I have to say the picturesque tropical beaches of Jamaica may be more up my alley.  Regardless, this island was absolutely magnificent, an unsullied natural beauty.  After a 5 hour bus ride complete with Scottish musical accompaniment (“Loch Lomond” is without a doubt my all-time favorite), we finally arrived in Kyleakin, a beautiful seaside village located in Skye.  After taking a perilous trek up to see these eerie yet enchanting castle ruins, we got to experience some of the strongest Scottish winds I’ve yet seen.  I don’t know if perilous is the right word though, as each hike seems perilous to a girl with a propensity for clumsiness! Thank god there was a bench midway up the trip to the ruins, partially to save my from tripping and plummeting off a climb, and partially because I needed to catch my breath.  After 2 months I assumed that after numerous hiking trips there would be a manifest change in my stamina, however defying all logic no change is apparent.

Image

Image

Image

After our hike we went to our hostel’s restaurant called Saucy Mary’s, where I indulged and tried a traditional British dessert, sticky toffee pudding.  As a dessert connoisseur, I have to say it was quite delicious but I don’t think anything will ever be as appealing to my palate as a good slice of New York cheesecake.  Once the desserts were inhaled, we took to the dance floor where a live band played traditional Scottish tunes and then would change pace with some Adele or a personal favorite of mine “Wagon Wheel.”  I even had to argue with a native Scot that “Wagon Wheel” was a song that originated in America; They may have whiskey under their belts, but they can’t claim rights to our sacred country music!  The inebriated older Scottish men dancing and incredible live music on the fourth best island in the world; it was a fantastic weekend!

I must also take the time to address how confounded I have been by the sun’s reign in Glasgow this week.  Three consecutive days of clear blue skies and sunshine, as if my motivation to do actual schoolwork wasn’t already at an all time low!  I hope more than anything that the sun has enjoyed his temporary visit to Glasgow, and will maybe even consider becoming a permanent resident.  A girl can dream!

Here are some pictures from my day in the park, to commemorate this glorious and rare weather!

Image

This little delight is referred to as a 99, a soft serve vanilla cone with raspberry syrup on top and a Flake candy bar smack in the middle.  Definitely hit the spot!

Image

Here is the authentic skate park in the park, reminiscent of Rocket Power, don’t ya think?

Here’s a link to my Scottish jam, Loch Lomond! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

