Yonsei University

Standard

In South Korea, education is very important and it’s a very serious matter here. Students are always striving to reach the top and to perform the best he or she can in order to stay one step ahead of his or her peers.

When it comes to college, students and their parents usually have the best in mind. Namely, SKY is an acronym used to refer to the three most prestigious universities in South Korea: Seoul National University, Korea University and Yonsei University. Admission into one of these universities is widely considered as determining one’s career and social status. Many influential lawyers, doctors, politicians, engineers, professors have graduated from one of the SKY universities.

Needless to say, I feel very honored and proud to be able to attend Yonsei University as an exchange student. The atmosphere here is quite intense because everyone is very studious. It’s not an odd thing to find someone reading or taking notes on the elevator or while walking to his or her next class.

Everyone here takes education very seriously and nothing should be taken with a grain of salt. The professors hold their students to a high standard and expect the best performance out of everyone. Knowing that, I feel very encouraged to always do my best because I know I am capable of doing so.

Yonsei is academically vigorous but its beautiful campus makes it worth it. I never expected the school to have such a big campus considering it is a private university in such a small and compact country. But because the school is surrounded by so many hills and forests, many of the buildings require great leg work and stamina during the ten minute transition period between classes.

But at least during those ten minutes, you are given a great and picturesque setting as your everyday view.

Although it is the second week of classes, I still don’t feel like a student yet. Maybe it’s because I am still in the transitioning phase but I hope that I will make it there in one piece. It’s as if my mind and body are in two completely different places. Other than that, classes here are quite similar to the ones back home.

As an accounting and finance student, the Business school here along with the classes are very competitive just like the ones back at Temple’s Fox School. I am surely happy that Fox was able to prepare me because I feel as though I’m sitting in another one of my BA classes. But as for those in other majors, I’m sorry that I can’t really give any insight on how any of the other classes are.

Now that the add & drop period is over, final class schedules are set and soon enough, everyone will be buried in their books studying away at the library or a quiet cafe. For sure that is going to be me! But with so many things to look forward too, its good to study and be a good student but also make some time for yourself to relax and unwind as well!

 

Leave a Reply

