Lisboa, um fim de semana de celebração de carnaval

Standard
Lisboa, um fim de semana de celebração de carnaval

We escaped the rain of Catalonia, to arrive to bright and sunny days ahead in Lisbon (fr. Lisbonne, portugese Lisboa)! We arrived at our hostel four hours early (Anna was not too happy with me). In the meantime we stayed at the lounge of the hostel and had breakfast with the people that were getting up from the night before. It was a really chill atmosphere and everyone was really friendly.

After waiting until our 2pm check in time, we came to our room with an amazing view! Three steps from my bed, and we stepped out onto a terrace overlooking the Rio Tejo.

 

We then met up with our friend Chloe, an other Temple student and walked throughout the city. There were beautiful beaches on the river, grand monuments, large white cathedrals, and my favorite, the colorful buildings. We made our way to a small public area overlooking the city that offered amazing views and photo ops.

That night we had dinner at our hostel. It was an ABC party for Carnaval. I picked out the finest costumes from the hostel’s dress-up chest and decided to wear a cape and a green curly wig. I sat next to a guy that dressed up like Julius Caesar and had a great meal.

The next morning we decided to walk all the way to the other side of the city in Belem. We walked through what seemed a deserted town, until we reached Belem, where we saw the Belem Tower, the Praça do Império, and the Mosteiro dos Jerónimos (Jeronimos Monastery). The area seemed to be a small jewel far away from the bustling area of the city we were in.

We had to take an Uber back after that long walk, but when we almost reached our final destination, the traffic was bumper to bumper because of a Carnaval parade on the Avenida da Liberdade (the main boulevard). We got out and Anna headed back to the hostel, but Chloe and I stayed to see the large public park called Marquis of Pombal Square. It had panoramic views of the city and a lovely ambiance of relaxation. After that, I got lost trying to find the hostel. I saw the city better that way, but it was a little nerve wracking when my phone died. I made it back and we had dinner again. We were so tired we just stayed in and talked with the people at the hostel.

The next morning we took the train to Sintra, a beautiful suburb and hour northwest of the city. Round trip cost me 4.04 euros. When we got off the train, we saw massive castles tucked in forests and as we continued to walk, we realized we were on a bluff overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. I couldn’t believe it when I saw it. But as life goes, we only had an hour and a half to spend there. We had a flight to catch. We had to take the train back, pick up our stuff at the hostel, and then take the subway to the airport. When we arrived at the aeroporto, we had to then take a bus to our terminal, only to find out our flight had been delayed 1 hour and 50 minutes. Needless to say, I was pissed.

Well we boarded at 9:50PM and did not arrive to Lyon until 2:45 in the morning. We took an Uber with two other Sciences Po exchange students to the city. I took my velo (bike) from the station to my apartment and did not arrive at home until 3:30AM and didn’t fall asleep until 4:40AM.

The rest of my week was filled with relaxation and celebrations for my 21st, which was the day I arrived so early in the morning from the holidays.

 

Leave a Reply

